Static IP Assignment Not Offered for EVE Community on VMWare Fusion Install

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
tammy9931
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:54 pm

Static IP Assignment Not Offered for EVE Community on VMWare Fusion Install

Post by tammy9931 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:05 pm

after many days wrangling eve community edition on a windows vm I opted to give it a whirl natively on a Mac. The deployment provided the option to chose a static IP, but did not provide the option to apply an IP to the setup.

Network adapter - Share with my Mac [NAT]
IP address assignment for deployment - static

any recommendations?

r/
Tammy
Last edited by tammy9931 on Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Posts and thoughts are my own irrespective of my employer.

thanks,
Tammy

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 3771
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Static IP Assignment Not Offered for EVE Community on VMWare Fusion Install

Post by Uldis (UD) » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:25 pm

It is offered, first time when you login in eve cli, it start IP setup wizard, and you must select Static IP and confirm with space selection

tammy9931
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:54 pm

Re: Static IP Assignment Not Offered for EVE Community on VMWare Fusion Install

Post by tammy9931 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 10:13 pm

I just ran though this install, 2x. Once with the EVE community edition and with the eve community edition 12 that was released today. I'm just following prompts in the deployment and I do not get prompted to configure a management IP of my choosing after I specify static.
Posts and thoughts are my own irrespective of my employer.

thanks,
Tammy

tammy9931
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:54 pm

Re: Static IP Assignment Not Offered for EVE Community on VMWare Fusion Install

Post by tammy9931 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 11:12 pm

This is a mac input problem. I can use the arrow keys to highlight "static" but nothing moves the "*" to the static selection. So I think the vm is not identifying the choice of static. I don't know how to force the selection to "static."

I've rebooted the latest vm many times trying to figure out how to send the correct key stroke to change the setting to "static." If I hit tab, the selection moves from dhcp to static, BUT the * is not reassigned to static.

any ideas?
Posts and thoughts are my own irrespective of my employer.

thanks,
Tammy

tammy9931
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:54 pm

Re: Static IP Assignment Not Offered for EVE Community on VMWare Fusion Install

Post by tammy9931 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 11:29 pm

whew - 1 million reloads and the solution is space bar. Probably my lack of knowledge, but I've figure it out.

Many thanks!!!!
Posts and thoughts are my own irrespective of my employer.

thanks,
Tammy

Post Reply