3640 image cannot be activated

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
RalphTorp
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2024 8:32 am

3640 image cannot be activated

Post by RalphTorp » Thu Feb 22, 2024 8:47 am

Is it possible to activate the 3640 image I have when I attempted to add a node but failed? Although I have some 3640 images, I noticed that the 3600 dynamips I created were inactive.

HingxoGamchu
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2023 12:40 pm

Re: 3640 image cannot be activated

Post by HingxoGamchu » Thu Feb 22, 2024 10:35 am

It's possible to activate your 3640 image after a failed node addition attempt, but it depends on the specific reason for the failure. Here's the deal:

If the failure was due to:

Image incompatibility: Then unfortunately, activating won't help. Verify the image compatibility with your Dynamips version and GNS3 configuration.
Incorrect configuration: Review your configuration closely, ensuring network interfaces, memory allocation, and other settings are correct for the 3640 image.
Dynamips bug: Check for known Dynamips issues with your specific image and Dynamips version. Community forums or bug trackers might offer solutions.
Activation methods:

GNS3: If using GNS3, right-click your 3640 node and select "Start". Ensure network connections are configured correctly.
Manual activation: Locate the Dynamips command prompt for your image and start it manually using the appropriate image file and configuration options.
Remember, activating won't magically fix incompatibility or configuration errors. Investigate the root cause of the failure before attempting activation.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 5080
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: 3640 image cannot be activated

Post by Uldis (UD) » Thu Feb 22, 2024 6:12 pm

too old image, simply end of life

Post Reply