Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

dadasane
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by dadasane » Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:09 pm

Hi,

Has anyone figured out how to add HDC drive to vManage ?

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2441
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:50 pm

I guess I said in this how to add HDD :)
at the end of this page

https://www.eve-ng.net/documentation/ho ... images-set

Uldis

dadasane
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by dadasane » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:09 pm

I guess I need a new pair of eyes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Thanks

dadasane
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by dadasane » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:52 pm

So I have created an additionnal HDD with the command /opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img create -f qcow2 hdc.qcow2 100G but I am still running into the same problem:


Code: Select all

Welcome to Viptela CLI
admin connected from 127.0.0.1 using console on vmanage
Available storage devices:
hdc     3GB
1) hdc
Select storage device to use: 1
Would you like to format hdc? (y/n): y
mke2fs 1.43.8 (1-Jan-2018)
Could not open /dev/hdc: No medium found
Select storage device to use: 1
Would you like to format hdc? (y/n): y
mke2fs 1.43.8 (1-Jan-2018)
Could not open /dev/hdc: No medium found
Select storage device to use: 1
Would you like to format hdc? (y/n): y
mke2fs 1.43.8 (1-Jan-2018)
Could not open /dev/hdc: No medium found
Select storage device to use: 1
Would you like to format hdc? (y/n): n
mount: /opt/data: no medium found on /dev/hdc.
vmanage# wall: cannot get tty name: Success
                                                                               
Broadcast message from root@vmanage (somewhere) (Sun Aug 11 20:48:02 2019):    
                                                                               
Sun Aug 11 20:48:02 UTC 2019: The system is going down for reboot NOW!         
                                                                               
Stopping services...
acpid: exiting
ok: down: acpid: 0s, normally up
ok: down: button: 59s, normally up
ok: down: cloudinit: 33s, normally up
ok: down: consul: 1s, normally up, want up
ok: down: container-manager: 58s, normally up
ok: down: dca: 1s, normally up, want up
ok: down: elasticsearch: 58s, normally up
ok: down: ephemeral: 0s, normally up
ok: down: getty-tty1: 0s, normally up
ok: down: getty-ttyS0: 0s, normally up
ok: down: kafka: 58s, normally up
ok: down: logrotate: 0s, normally up
ok: down: neo4j: 57s, normally up
ok: down: tcsd: 1s, normally up, want up
ok: down: watchdog: 35s, normally up
ok: down: wildfly: 58s, normally up
ok: down: zookeeper: 58s, normally up
ok: down: sdavc-proxy: 0s, normally up
ok: down: cloudagent: 0s, normally up

The recognized HDC is 3G... so obviously it has nothing to do with the one I have created... and if I create another HDD with a different name, same result, I only seem to see an HDC of 3G....

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2441
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:26 am

why hdc???

in my how to it is hdb :)
hdc is added by system itself, and it is not used for install mate

then it will appear as hdb and you install vmanage on it :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dadasane
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by dadasane » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:30 am

I really dont know what I am doing wrong....

1-I have changed the image to use 18.4.1 version like in the how-to
2-I have used the exact same command /opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img create -f qcow2 hdb.qcow2 100G

But.... :(
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2441
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:44 am

BUT MATE,
this hdd need create under image folder !!!

root@eve-ng:~# cd /opt/unetlab/addons/qemu/vtmgmt-19.1.0
root@eve-ng:/opt/unetlab/addons/qemu/vtmgmt-19.1.0# ls -l
total 1133640
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1160642560 Apr 18 22:44 hda.qcow2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 198656 Apr 18 23:56 hdb.qcow2
root@eve-ng:/opt/unetlab/addons/qemu/vtmgmt-19.1.0#

Go to vmanager folder and then CREATE HDB

dadasane
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by dadasane » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:52 am

Now my vManage does not start anymore.... hmmm....when I start it, it stops after a couple of seconds...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2441
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:00 am

after you addedd hdd in image folder
DO right click on node and wipe !!!
then start

dadasane
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Viptela - vManage question in EVE-NG

Post by dadasane » Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:03 am

Thanksssssssssssss !!!!!!!!!!!!! it worked this time... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Post Reply