Convert Format - File Too Large?

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

DreamTFK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:06 pm

Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by DreamTFK » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:23 pm

Lab Host: Core i5-7300U, 16GB RAM, 256GB NVME.
EVE-NG Running On: VMWare Player v15
VT-X: ??

Ran a search but found no results. I am following the guide to add a L2 VIRL image but I am encountering an error about the file being too large when I try to convert it.

Image

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2098
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:19 pm

wrong filename
make sure/rename you original image file to have at the end extension .vmdk and then use convert command !

/opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img convert -f vmdk -O qcow2 vios-adventerprisek9-m.vmdk virtioa.qcow2

step 1.5 in this how to
https://www.eve-ng.net/documentation/ho ... -from-virl

DreamTFK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by DreamTFK » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:22 pm

I am not sure I understand. Step 1.5 comes after the step that failed for me. I am trying to do the conversion which is step 1.4.

If the syntax is wrong why would it tell me the file size is too big? Do I perhaps need to adjust me VM settings to have more HDD space?

DreamTFK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by DreamTFK » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:29 pm

I see what you are saying now and I got it to work. It seems that steps 1.4 and 1.5 should be merged together.

You have to rename before you can do the conversion. Hopefully the rest goes smoothly. Thank you!

DreamTFK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by DreamTFK » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:44 pm

So after the conversion I deleted .vmdk from the original file. I now have two files in the directory:

/opt/unetlab/addons/qemu/vios_l2-adventerprisek9-m.vmdk/virtioa.qcow2
opt/unetlab/addons/qemu/vios_l2-adventerprisek9-m.vmdk/vios_l2-adventerprisek9-m.vmdk.SSA.152-4.0.55.E

When I try to add an object in my lab the Cisco vIOS L2 node is still grey and I cannot select it. Is there another set of instructions for adding it in the lab? Or am I misunderstanding the instructions and should delete the entire original file? I have tried the native console and the HTML5 console.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2098
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:03 pm

. :) no mate
Check you have one directory and the virtioa. qcow2 file in it.
No other sub dir inside of image folder.

You must have
/opt/unetab/addons/qemu/viosl2-tratatayourimage/virtioa. qcow2

And please be careful image folder name must be exact
You have viosl2_xxx
But must be
viosl2-xxxx

It is not underscore

Correct foldername starts
viosl2-

DreamTFK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by DreamTFK » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:18 pm

There is no subdirectory inside of opt/unetlab/addons/qemu/viosl2-adventerprisek9-m.vmdk, see screenshot below.

I changed the underscore in the folder name but it still does not become available in Eve.

Image

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2098
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:29 pm

yes mate but there is no virtioa.qcow2 image inside !!!
look..
come in eve live chat I will sort you in a minute
Mate you are making really silly mistakes, sorry

https://www.eve-ng.net/live-helpdesk

use google account or create new for join

Uldis
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DreamTFK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by DreamTFK » Fri Jan 11, 2019 1:23 pm

I am in the chat now. Yeh I just don't understand. I am looking at the image file that was created after the conversion, it is there. You can see it in my screenshots.

My file URL looks just like yours.

DreamTFK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: Convert Format - File Too Large?

Post by DreamTFK » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:50 pm

Another user posted a picture of his URL and it looks just like mine except for different folder naming. You can see the .qcow2 image in the folder just like mine.

Image

Post Reply